The Beauty of Nothing

With so much free time on my hands my mind is finally free to allow threads of thoughts, speculations, explorations, questions, and philosophies to run rampant. I have a growing list of questions to look up, pray about, or ask smart people. Time has also allowed some thoughts to come to their ridiculous end, and have left my mind hopefully forever. I’ve not even been here a month though, so don’t let those few sentences fool you into thinking I’m a changed, better person now. Far from it- and the list of improvements I ought to make in myself is rapidly growing as well.

Regardless, the one thing that becomes more and more clear each day is how inadequate and irrelevant my thoughts are. (Some people in my life are probably rolling their eyes and saying “finally!”) Honestly though the more you contemplate God, the more you are brought to stillness at his incomprehensibleness. The more I simply look on the beauty he has created here around me- from mountains to babies to fall colors to fighting sparks in the human spirit- all this spurs hundreds of thoughts and ultimately the desire to not think and just be. Just witness. To take it all in and observe more rather than talk. Don’t get me wrong, we must think. One thing at the top of my self-improvement list is to have greater tolerance for stupid people. It is good for humans to ask questions, follow them through to conclusions, and speculate on great and small things. But sometimes we ought to stop for a bit. Other times we are forced to stop. Because the reality of the beauty you live in is far too grand to wrap your mind around and that is when you are most grateful for the gift of the senses which sometimes allow you to take in what you cannot comprehend.

With that it mind, I leave you with more pictures and hopefully short captions.

Mountains on a sunny day
Mountains on a sunny day
Cloudy today = no mountains
Hecka Cloudy today = no mountains
Path to Altstadht: the old city
Path to Altstadht: the old city
It's the oldest part of town here
It’s the oldest part of town here
Quaint little area
Quaint little area
Austrian sunset
Austrian sunset
Be still my heart
Be still my heart
KurPark- where the upperclass used to live
KurPark- where the upperclass used to live
Now a home to therapeutic spas and general enjoyment
Now a home to therapeutic spas and general enjoyment
and small children :)
and small children 🙂
Bavaria: home to tropical trees
Bavaria: home to tropical trees
Mozart balls
This Mozart Chocolate is super famous, I believe it’s the oldest product or something here. Still need to look that up. Some of the candies are commonly referred to as “Mozart Balls” as they are, well, round.  lol.

image

Sunday story: My plan has been to visit different churches each week for a while. Walked into this tiny tiny Church on Sunday, 20 minutes before mass started and it was completely empty. Bit sketchy but maybe no one comes early? I sat there peacefully by myself for about 15 minutes before I decided that since mass began in 5 and I was still the sole human present… well… I decided to not take my chances and walked across town to the Church I had attended last week, which had mass at the same time. I’m looking forward to different ones however; a Catholic mass has 4 biblical readings: old testament, psalm, letter from Paul, and a gospel reading. Now I can’t understand anything thats’ happening, but last Sunday I was almost certain they skipped the letter from Paul. This Sunday They definitely skipped the psalm and the epistle. Also there was some sketchy liturgical stuff happening. This should keep life interesting.


This was in case any of you thought I have a dream job….
And…. just in case any of you thought I have a dream job.
Leave a Reply

