Daily Life, Beautiful Monotony

A normal day here begins at 7am. I get myself ready and then go wake the girls. I make their brotseid, which is like a snack lunch. Mom and I get them dressed for school and then I feed them breakfast. We walk to Kindergarten and then the kinder-crippa (I have no idea how that’s actually spelled), which is basically pre-school. The little one just started this preschool 2 weeks ago, and after getting her acclimated to this new life event, I’ve had my mornings free now to work on things.

image

I love this part of the day. You all back home are sleeping, and will be for the next few hours. Most days I find a strange joy in not being able to talk to anyone, and I just live my own little morning. I’ve started running again, which is awesome, and also helps me learn the town a bit more. These are some pictures from my runs.

imageimageimageimage

imageimageimage

image

I love this river, it’s at the base of one of the mountain ranges here and the view as fall approached has been increasingly gorgeous. Sometimes I just bring a book and read, which is a luxury I haven’t had since grade school.

image

Then I pick up the baby, bring her home for her nap, and a few hours later she wakes up and the older girl is home from kindergarten. But the day’s only half over, and small children have lots of energy that has to be channeled somewhere or they’ll destroy things. Things or your sanity.

There’s a beautiful bed and breakfast place in between Bad Reichenhall and Salzburg that has been in the family for generations. I’ve shared some pictures before but heres a few more. We often go here for breakfast on the weekends, or for an evening beer or just to spend time. It’s lovely.

imageimageimage

image

image

image

image

The youngest one LOVES cows, which is super funny, and so anytime she gets cranky I take her outside and we find the cows and it’s all joy after that. Well, all joy unless I make her stay away from the electric fence. I’m mean like that.

image

Leave a Reply

